‘A more excellent way’

St Paul’s noble vision of Christian love in I Corinthians 13, chosen as a reading at so many marriage ceremonies, is one that fills me with hope and thankfulness – hope because I thirst for such love, and thankfulness because, although I know I fall so far short of this ‘more excellent way’ (as we all do!), I am reminded of how dependent I am on God’s grace, and how thankful I am for His Divine love.

‘Love  suffers long and is kind:

love does not envy;

love does not parade itself, is not puffed up;

does not behave rudely,

does not seek its own,

is not provoked, thinks no evil;

does not rejoice in iniquity

but rejoices in the truth;

bears all things,

believes all things,

hopes all things, 

endures all things.’

[I Corinthians 13: 4-7]

Love is the eternal heart of all God – given gifts. 

Leave a Reply

