‘The Armour of God’/ spiritual warfare… Ephesians 6

This passage is in the final chapter of St. Paul’s letter to the Ephesians but it is the first passage I think of when I think of Ephesians, and especially at this time when the deep fault-lines in relationships both at home and abroad are resulting in conflicts – with especially harrowing consequences in the Middle East.

I have written about this in detail in my prayer journal but will just comment relatively briefly on it here.

I often pray into this passage as an intercessionary prayer and I believe prayer is a very powerful ‘weapon’. The ‘weapons’ St.Paul describes here are all defensive weapons, not offensive, and they are all God-given gifts – such as salvation, righteousness, faith. The gift of intercession is also God-given.

When I read the scriptures I often find myself meditating and praying. Sometimes I read commentaries. Sometimes I ask how Christian friends have responded to various passages. Sometimes I see links with other passages in the Bible and read those passages, too. What I find difficult  to do is to comment, analyse or try to persuade/’convert’ other people – I don’t seem to have the gift of evangelism.

For this reason, this will be my last post in connection with #Rom2Rev. I am thankful for the contributions to #Rom2Rev of Tricia and Corrie and also Allan, who sadly and unexpectedly died not so long ago. I will continue to wear my Bible out with frequent reading and may post on some passages from time to time.

‘Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty powers.Put on the full armour of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places …..Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.And pray in the spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests.With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.’

‘Peace to the brothers and love with faith from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.Grace to all who love our Lord Jesus Christ with an undying love.’

Amen

3 thoughts on “‘The Armour of God’/ spiritual warfare… Ephesians 6

  1. triciafrasman

    Reblogged this on Random Ramblings and commented:
    When we started #Rom2Rev there quite a few of us, as time went on the study group dwindled as reflected by Christine in this post. It has been a joy and honour to share the journey with others. I plan to continue my quest to read through to the end of the NT, not just reading but also studying (I have read all the books several times, but not really taken time to understand the text and context). I pray that the Spirit will enlighten me. I will still Tweet as well on occasion ;-).
    Thanks to Christine for these thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. quinnjones2 Post author

    Thank you, Tricia 🙂 I have felt very encouraged by all your posts on #Rom2Rev. I think of the BigBible project and realise more and more just how
    BIG the Bible is!
    love and prayers
    Christine

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

