A kitten called ‘Kolie’ …What’s in a name?

What is in a name? Quite a lot! Many people  I know have a story to tell about their own names and their pets’ names… and I love listening to them.

The kitten called ‘Kolie’ was originally called ‘Chloe’ … until my father announced :’This ‘she’ is actually a ‘he’.’ He was right. Why hadn’t we realised?!

We then had a family forum on the subject of re-naming ‘Chloe’. We were all used to saying ‘Chloe’ and ‘Kolie’ might not be too difficult to learn, and though the spelling was a bit novel it sounded like ‘coalie’ and ‘Chloe’ was mainly black, anyway. So ‘Chloe’ became ‘Kolie’.

I love hearing stories about choices of baby-names, name-changes because people couldn’t stand the names they were given, and ‘double-barreled’ surnames such as mine…now thereby hangs a tale, but I will save that for another day!

However, I will make a ‘confession’ about my ‘first’ name. On my birth certificate Christine is actually my ‘second’ name. My parents always intended me to be known as Christine but my real ‘second’ name appears first on my birth certificate, because my mother thought it sounded better that way round. So according to my birth certificate (and all official documents), I am Ada Christine.

I was called Ada after my paternal grandmother, who died nine months before I was born. For that reason I will not change my name, but it has been a source of embarrassment to me on several occasions, especially at hospital appointments. When a member of staff also omits the first part of my surname and calls out ‘Ada Jones’, it takes me a while to realise that I am the person being called!

Sometimes I feel tempted to change my ‘Christian’  names roung  by deed to prevent this kind of confusion, but so far I have resisted this temptation.

However, I remain fascinated by name-changes, and especially name-changes in the scriptures.

This is one of my favourites:

‘Looking intently at Simon, Jesus said,” Your name is Simon…but you will be called Cephas.” (which means Peter) ‘ John 1:42

2 thoughts on “A kitten called ‘Kolie’ …What’s in a name?

Leave a Reply

