Silent in the presence of God

God is God and I am I
God is our Creator and I was created by him
God is omniscient but my knowledge is very limited
God is infinite and I am finite – though I have an eternal hope in Christ and sometimes I have a sense of the still centre where time finite and time infinite intersect
God is omnipresent but I am present in a specific place at a specific time
God is perfect:I am fallible

Being silent in the presence of God really cuts me down to size, which is humbling.
It is also liberating because I become less inclined to feel responsible for things for which I am not responsible; I feel less inclined to try to change things I cannot change; I feel less inclined to try to change other people and more inclined to pray for them.

God is God and I am I.

Leave a Reply

